The building of the Royal Falconry of Salvaterra de Magos dates back to the 18th century. It presents influences of the Dutch falconry of century XVII, being a unique example in the Iberian Peninsula.
Considered the noblest of the hunting arts, falconry was the hallmark of emperors, kings and princes from all over the world. The history of Salvaterra’s Royal Falconry is closely associated with the history of the Royal House – which, over time, has transformed this noble village into an important center of Portuguese social and artistic life. The period of greatest rise of Falconry occurs in 1752 with the arrival of a dozen of Dutch falconers , form Valkenswaard, to teach this art.
The process of recovery and valorization of Falcoaria Real began more than 60 years ago, when this building was classified in 1953 as a Public Interest Building, forcing its architectural design to be maintained.
In the 1980s, the Municipality of Salvaterra de Magos was able to buy the building from its last private owner, Count Monte Real, and in 2009 it reopened its doors, completely restored and with a permanent presentation on falconry.